Everyday is pizza day

Monday has been my interval day since 2010. 4 x 4 intervals are great. And painful. Kickstarts the week, it’s brutal and it’s over in 30 minutes. But Mondays also equals lectures at uni until 8 pm. Failing to plan really equals planning to fail in this case (major list/planning freak right here) and bringing enough food is my lifesaver. Therefore, I always cook enough dinner to cover my lunch the following day.

IMG_1985

Every time I bring lunch to uni, Phoebe has a “what the hell is that?” kind of reaction, and the same goes for my typical monday-clean-pizza. It is delicious though, and almost everyone who has tastedΒ it, has attempted making it on their own. Going back to Norway over the break resulted in plenty of cooking attempts in tricking my mother into eating like me, but the pizza was a bit of a barrier for her to overcome. “I’m not going to eat that dry pizza you keep making”, she said. But being hungry enough, she did. And she enjoyed it.

Next up, my younger sister. The terrible hangovers run in our family (thanks, mom), and one sunday we were both suffering, and as a result of having no greasy food in the house (thanks again, mom), my clean pizza was the only option. Mini-me messaged me yesterday, wanting the recipe to last for her and her boyfriend including an after party snack. It does taste good. Promise. And the base can be used to cook pretty much anything you want a bread-like substance for, naan-bread, garlic bread, breakfast, bread with your soup.. It sure does the trick.

To make enough pizza to cover the needs of this tipsy girl

IMG_2886

and this majorly hungover girl

IMG_2563

or this group of party-animals

IMG_2975

You need:

Rolled oats, eggs, baking powder, psyllium husk (can technically be left out), water/milk of choice (I use unsweetened almond milk), greek yoghurt and spices/fresh herbs of preference (I always do oregano).

I can’t really provide an exact recipe as I tend to just throw it all together and add things as they seem needed, but the basics for a pizza for 1 person (leaving enough for lunch the day after) are:

Pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees. Put two eggs, 50/50 of crushed oats and rolled oats (2,5 dl at least), a teaspoon or two of psyllium husk (binds the dough a tad better) and a teaspoon of baking powder in a bowl. Stir it. Add the spices/herbs. Add water/milk and a dash of greek yoghurt (if not staying away from dairy) until creating a sticky dough. If the dough becomes too runny, add more oats. Leave for 15-20 minutes for the oats to soak some of the liquid. Sort of smear the dough out on a sheet of baking paper and put in the oven. Cook until half-way done, about 15 minutes depending on your oven. Take it out, and cool off (important for the crust to become crispy).

IMG_3322

Meanwhile, prepare whatever you want to put on your pizza. My pizzas are typically a result of throwing together everything I have in the fridge/using leftover food, and I always overdo the topping. Make your own pesto (basil, garlic, olive oil, pine nuts and parmesan cheese in a blender) or your own pizza sauce, or be lazy like me and use sugar-free ketchup (no Australia, it is not called tomato sauce). Adding meat/chicken will provide you with some more protein, this time I used turkey and some leftover pepperoni. Overload with vegetables. Having to stay away from dairy, I resolve to soy cheese (no, it is not particularly tasty) and a tad parmesan cheese – but I used drown my pizza in mozzarella cheese, so if Β you can – do it. Put it back in the oven on 200 degrees until your vegetables are cooked (probably another 15 minutes), and VOILÁ – you can eat pizza every day for the rest of your life if you so desire.

IMG_3319

This pizza can be altered and changed in so many ways. Add shredded cheese to the dough, add shredded cauliflower to the dough (so delish), add different spices to the dough, change your topping. It is of course not like the good old woodfire pizza down the road, but it does the trick, it is filling, it is healthy and I still very much look forward to every time I know it is in my lunch box.

6 thoughts on “Everyday is pizza day

  1. Pingback: Tuna-crust pizza and a killer back-workout |

  2. As pizza is my favourite food/ biggest weakness, I will definitely be trying this one out! The lack of salt is good too; too much pizza leaves me feeling dehydrated!

Leave a Reply

