Summer dreamin’

My weekends are typically food adventures, although I started this weekend like this..

IMG_3576

I sort of might have had a dairy-free (but packed with sugar) frozen yoghurt mid-week so no candy-Saturday this weekend, but delicious food is important. Every time I walk (or right now, limp) to and from uni, I walk past an indian take-away shop, and I always crave their food. So I had to make my own. If I was pro, I would be making the butter chicken sauce from scratch, but I’m not. Luckily, Coles has a pretty good option where I recognize every ingredient (therefore my body will too) and nothing artificial is added.

IMG_3577

I used chicken, onion, fresh ginger, capsicum, mushrooms and zucchini. Put it all in a pot to simmer, and add some water as the base is pretty thick (coconut cream would probably be even better). Now, I don’t normally eat rice, but KamillaΒ has a perfect solution for that. Cauliflower-“rice”. Grate cauliflower or smash it with a blender, fry in coconut oil with salt and pepper. I know it sounds boring, but guys – it is amazing.

IMG_3579 IMG_3580

IMG_3582Again, I’m no Jamie Oliver (and I was starving), but it does taste good.

No dinner without dessert, and what is better, now that summer is coming, than a milkshake? This is based on a Green Kitchen Stories recipe, and I could probably drink/eat this for the rest of my life.

IMG_3584

You need:

3-4 big strawberries, half a lime, a large frozen banana, a handful of cashews and a splash of desired milk (again, I used unsweetened almond milk).

Blend the strawberries and the lime juice, pour over in a glass. Blend the banana, cashews and milk and pour over. Note; do not throw it all together, that kind of defeats the purpose of the whole thing. The bottom layer reminds me sooo much of my mom’s homemade strawberry jam! I was gonna throw some raw cocoa on top, but I forgot. Enjoy.

IMG_3604

Leave a Reply

