Chocolate muffins for the chocolate lovers, with..zucchini?

I am a cake person. And a chips person. But bake a cake in front of me, and I am sold. Whenever I’m craving things, I tend to go through recipes online or in my clean-eating cookbooks, and pick things that I want to bake. Now, Line and I have tried several low-carb recipes, but we aaaalways fail. It smells nice. It looks good. But tastes horrible. And it is so disappointing.

IMG_3786

Green Kitchen Stories does, however, never fail. Everything I’ve tried (even though I alter the recipes a tad) has been a success, and it has even been approved by the sugar-monsters in my house. The same goes for the chocolate muffins I baked yesterday. 

IMG_3803

I get that many people are scared when they see vegetables as ingredients in cakes, but think of a carrot cake and how delicious that is! You can’t taste the zucchini, it’s only there for the moisture of the muffins (not to mention it does come with health benefits).

I followed this recipe, but instead of maple syrup (which I consider to be sugar), I used five fresh medjool-dates. I know a lot of people are hesitant towards using dates (or dried figs for that matter) in food because they “don’t like them”, but when used as a sugar/syrup replacement, it becomes more like a caramel-y, sweet syrup, and the “date-flavor” disappears. I cut the dates in little pieces and melted them in a pot with three tbs of coconut milk.

IMG_3797

Oh, can anyone tell me what the difference between baking soda and baking powder is? I’ve always thought it was the same..

I didn’t have spelt flour, so I used almond flour, and the butter can be replaced with coconut oil. I didn’t really have all the spices or nuts either, but I put in heaps of cardamom, cinnamon and raw cocoa powder, and used almonds, peanuts and cashews instead of walnuts. 

IMG_3805

If I had remembered to buy soy cream cheese, I obviously would have made the frosting too – which I think would have made them absolutely perfect. 

Line enjoyed her muffin with a class of milk, Danny (my other housemate) enjoyed it with a big “YUM” and I enjoyed mine with some sugar-free chocolate on top. We’ve had a little photoshoot today (I am exhausted) to change the design of this blog, and I brought some muffins and power-bars to bribe the allergic-to-everything-photographer and chocolate-loving-assistant, and they both wanted to make it again at home. Warms my little health-freak-heart.

I spent my friday afternoon with my lovely physio, playing with balance boards and what-not, and my ankle is luckily heading in the direction we want it to. I can’t run or jump yet (though I might have done that during the shoot today..), but I am finally allowed to slowly include my all-time favorite leg day! I did a full body-workout this morning and boy are my legs sore.. I’m assuming my 70kg hip-thrusts are gonna be somewhat reduced when I attempt that again. Oh well, baby steps.

IMG_3782

Leave a Reply

