How to stay on track on vacation

So I’ve just been away on vacation. My God, I forgot what having beach hair and tan-lines was like. Gotta say I’m feeling slightly blessed being able to get on a plane for two hours and leave 12 degrees and heavy rain, to end up in sunny heaven and a penthouse apartment. Life just sometimes goes perfectly in the direction it is supposed to.

My “abs” have obviously gone a tad astray the past few weeks, and I have therefore planned on doing measurements in another three weeks to motivate myself and stay on top of things.Β Anyway, despite being on vacation, my workout week turned out like this:

Monday – 4 x 4 intervals + favourite upper-body circuit with weights in the gym

Tuesday – Rest (spent pretty much the entire day traveling)

Wednesday – 30 minute run on the beach followed by 12 x 4 sets of pushups, 10 x 3 sets of triceps-pushups, 12 x 3 dips on a bench

IMG_4054 IMG_4041 IMG_4044 IMG_4050 IMG_4051

Thursday – Legs and abs on the beach.

Yes it is possible, we made a circuit of:

3×12 superset of squats + jumping squats (a superset means no rest between the combined sets of exercises – increases your heart rate)

While Tonje did walking lunges, I used my elastic band to do a variation of “cable kick-backs”

IMG_4065

Various isolation exercises forcing you to connect with your glutes, inner thighs and quads

IMG_4071

IMG_4070

12×3 sumo squats (everyone should be looking this happy when having a leg-day by the way)

IMG_4073

3 sets of jumping sumo squats in a circle

IMG_4081

IMG_4079IMG_4077

1 minute isometric squat (holding a squat-position for as long as possible)

10 x burpees (found out that I really suck at doing burpees)

20 x 3 calf-raises in stairs

1 minute plank

30 sec side plank on both sides

Plank to pushup, ten on each arm

Other variations of planking (and maybe playing) in the sand

IMG_4096

Friday – 1 h morning walk in the sand

Saturday – 1 h morning walk in the sand

IMG_4117

Sunday – Back, shoulders and abs in the gym

I love the ocean so much that I can’t picture my future life not living by the ocean, so I’ve of course been swimming (scaring myself thinking about sharks and jellyfish) and whatnot everyday too.

When it comes to eating, I dare say I’ve been following my suggestion of 80/20 pretty well. A vacation is a vacation and I’m not killing myself for having had a few frozen yoghurts, an ice-cream made with nitrogen (!!!) nuts, dried fruit or coronas, but my main meals have stayed true to what I believe in. Eating healthy on vacation is easy and cheap, I actually think I spent less money away than what I do during a normal week in Melbourne. Luckily we had our own kitchen, so I had my usual breakfast of oats, eggs and a banana every morning, and brought lunch in a box to the beach. Always bring a lunch-box, it is genius for leftovers, fresh fruit etc.

IMG_3809

I bought sliced turkey breast, vegetables for salad (spinach, tomato, avocado), fresh fruit, pumpernickel bread (yes, the black, compact bread no one in Australia would ever touch) and eggs, and made some sort of a salad out of this everyday. So good, so fresh, protein-packed and very very easy. Not to mention that it saves loads of money. I also bought detox-juice consisting of beetroot, carrot, celery, apple and ginger quite often, so good. We cooked dinner at home most nights and I had taco-salad, homemade tomato soup (which costs about 3 dollars to make…) and kangaroo-burger with oven-roasted vegetables. When eating out I chose a grilled, very mild fish (I hate the well-known fish taste) with veggies. Easy and healthy.

IMG_3752

I guess what I’m trying to say is that if there is a will, there is also a way. If you want to work out on vacation, you will. It is of course perfectly fine to rest when traveling, but why not use the amazing opportunities of nature if you can? You don’t have to go all in and burn 900 calories in a workout, what matters is that you get up and do something. And enjoy an occasional ice-cream or whatever you do crave, but bring a lunch box, keep your main meals clean and eat lots of fresh fruit in-between meals. No one is forcing you to choose the unhealthiest option on the menu, no one is forcing you to buy that chocolate bar in the supermarket and no one is forcing you to eat lollies everyday. It is your choice. Willpower and planning is the key.

IMG_4107

 

Leave a Reply

