Boot camp strike 2

Jesus Christ, I just got back from the start of week 6 (!!!) of boot camp and I think I’m about to die. Because I exercise as much as I do, boot camp has only been ‘just another workout’ of the week sort of. I’ve of course pushed myself and done what I’ve been told, but there has always been energy left, whereas those who might only be doing boot camp 2-3 times a week as their workout has been all out of energy, knowing that they didn’t have another session to complete in the afternoon. Today, on the other hand… If I was told we had to do one more round of burpees, squats and push-ups, I would’ve collapsed. I am no runner, and I technically don’t function without music, but because we’ve changed from running on solid ground to grass, I’ve started just going for it. Not to mention the fact that my friend Mari is so bloody fast when she runs, making me angry I can never keep up with her. Getting up at 5 in the morning kills me every time and I look just about this excited on my way there

IMG_4968

When I finish, however, life is normally extremely good

IMG_4970IMG_4949

I’ve never been a girl with much muscle on the upper body (my legs are a different story), but ever since I started boot camp, both my core and my upper body strength has significantly improved. When doing push-ups before, I used to struggle with pain in my shoulders and could in general not go as low as I was supposed to. Guys tend to know how to tense their chest muscles and push off with them, whereas girls overuse their arms most of the time, but now that my core strength is improved and I’ve started thinking about how to properly do a push-up, I’m not struggling (as much). Not to mention the fact that I finally have a visible muscle if I flex. It’s tiny, but anything is better than nothing!

IMG_5010

My days here in Melbourne generally flick between studying PT-material (I forgot how incredibly shit I am with complicated science related things, might be freaking out), living in the gym or going to the beach (whenever Melbourne is not bipolar in its weather, I wore wool yesterday…), and the other week I managed to lock myself out of the house. No phone, no food (!!!), no shoes, no top and see-through hotpants. 5 hours and a decent sunburn later…

IMG_4864IMG_4862

I’ve also spent a day trying to convince myself I enjoy public speaking (it is literally one of my biggest fears),

IMG_4952

and I’m now qualified to save your life, should you manage to stop breathing or cut your finger off in the blender (but please don’t). Even made a friend doing this first aid stuff, he decided to start talking to me based on the fact that he noticed all the weird fruit and vegetables I was snacking on when I got bored.

IMG_4884

Having such an interesting life like mine, often requires quick solutions in terms of lunch/dinner, and sometimes the simple stuff is great, let me just say I’ve had a few days looking like this

IMG_4964

I always bring tupperware-boxes packed with food of some kind no matter where I go. Tomorrow I know I’ll be going to the beach, so when cooking today I’ll make sure I cook more than what I’ll eat and simply bring the leftovers and some fruit in a few containers. It doesn’t have to be complicated, and you don’t have to resort to eating crap because you think planning is difficult. Failing to plan = planning to fail, is what I always tell myself.

Wow, this turned out to be a big-time selfie post. Oh well, I am a big-time selfie girl, so I’m not even ashamed. Spend the upcoming week working hard and eating right, your bodies will thank you!

Leave a Reply

