No one has time, we make time

If anyone is wondering how that post-Christmas workout deal was working for me the first couple of weeks..IMG_5653

Yeah, I struggled. But it’s a matter of making it a routine. I know Monday means intervals, so I put my shoes on and I do it. I know Wednesday means high-rep leg day, and no matter when I have clients that day, I make sure I get it done. If Beyonce has 24 packed hours and manages to get a workout in, then so can I. We all get the same 24 hours, we just have to MAKE THE TIME.

IMG_5680Death on the way out of the gym after leg-day.

Melbourne has been fortunate enough to have a couple of heat waves, and there’s not any other place to be than the beach or directly under the aircon. When I was little, going to the beach typically meant getting ice-cream and mom bringing snacks – and I still associate the beach with that. But, considering that I will spend the entire day at the beach every day if I get the chance, that Β can’t happen. Chopping up vegetables and putting it in a box isn’t hard, which means eating healthy on the go isn’t hard either. Planning, planning and more planning.

IMG_5682

I’ve also been practicing making rice paper rolls, let’s just say.. I’m no pro.

IMG_5658

The past week has been spent at work. 12 hours. Pretty much every day. Does that stop me from exercising? No. Does that stop me from eating healthy? No. Okay, so it might help that my job is to spend time in a gym – but, I still have to make the effort and actually make time for the workout. Let me just tell you right now that exercising doesn’t exactly appeal all the time when you’ve been on your feet all day, forcing other people to push through a workout. And I’m surrounded by heaps of restaurants, but I still choose to prepare my own food and bring it – that way I know what I’m eating, and I’m saving money.

IMG_5671

IMG_5776

I also happen to have a fully booked week coming up with early morning workouts, work induction in the middle of nowhere, and clients at night. Which means I will be roasting vegetables and baking power cookies (oats, banana, nuts, seeds, peanut butter and egg) to simply bring along. It doesn’t get easier.

IMG_5789

We went away last weekend, and managed to put in a bit of incidental activity. Exercise doesn’t always have to be about going to the gym and doing bicep curls – sometimes all it takes is a little bit of fun.

IMG_5709(don’t ask, Canadians have a weird way of doing this..)

IMG_5728

IMG_5752

Today is Australia day, and I wish I was out getting blind with everyone else (going on sober for over a month right now – jeez) in the perfect summer heat, but some Norwegians actually has to be responsible and get organized in terms of work. Our apartment turns into a sauna even with the aircon on, so I’ve made myself a smoothie bowl and I’m enjoying my own company. The tan I’ve built up is for sure gradually disappearing.

IMG_5812

Okay, another rambling blog post – but sometimes that’s all I’ve got. We made cauliflower crust pizza (you know you’ve got a good boyfriend lined up when he gets excited when you suggest cooking a pizza like that) this weekend, and just to mess up my original breakfast of oats and eggs, we combined it and made an.. oatmeal cakeΒ (and ate it before I took a picture).

IMG_5805

IMG_5800

I’ve never been a person to make New Year’s resolutions, but this year I decided to do it. No ‘I wanna lose weight’ or ‘I’m gonna eat healthy’ bullshit, you need to be more specific than that.

I’m going to improve my core strength. It’s terrible, and I hate working on it – which means I have to. Particularly after having played with the boyfriend and an ex-marine at work (find the video on Instagram), I’ve got nothing on them, and I really wanna look cool in the gym too.Β I’m also going to start incorporating using the TRX into some of my workouts, as that requires you to constantly stabilize your core.

No shopping of gym clothes until my birthday. I tend to justify hanging out at the Nike shop a little bit too much, and I just have to realize that I’m broke, and that if I want to do all the things I want to do this year, I have to be wise.

And lastly, foam rolling and trigger-pointing. I’ve had extreme head aches twice a week since I was about 12, and no one has found a solution to the problem – other than drugging me to sleep. I’m sick of taking painkillers, and I’m sick of headaches. Releasing toxins from the muscles by foam rolling and applying pressure to trigger points with that spiky yellow ball will hopefully be the solution. When it comes to foam rolling, frequency is more important than duration, so I’m trying to get it done no less than once a day, but preferable 2-3 times a day. It is probably the most painful thing I can think of.

IMG_5782

Also, if you’re still wondering why you should limit your sugar intake – read my article about it here.

And I’d like to congratulate my dad’s girlfriend’s daughter, Kristin, with a gold medal in the Battle of London Crossfit – let’s just say that you know you have a strong core when you can do this

Leave a Reply

